skip navigation

Back to Graphic Version | SAMHSA News Home

SAMHSA News - January/February 2007, Volume 15, Number 1

Regional Centers Support Communities That Care

The Centers for the Application of Prevention Technologies (CAPTs) support SAMHSA’s Communities That Care (CTC) program by offering a wide array of training and assistance services to communities, tribes, states, and other U.S. jurisdictions.

Under the guidance of SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), the CAPTs form one of the cornerstones of the Agency’s efforts to bring effective substance abuse prevention to every community by moving the knowledge gained from science into the delivery of services.

There are five CAPT regions. These centers serve programs located in central, northeast, southeast, southwest, and western regions of the Nation.

Five CAPT Regions

Central Region Northeast Region Southeast Region Southwest Region Western Region
North Dakota Maine Florida Colorado Alaska
South Dakota Vermont Georgia New Mexico Hawaii
Minnesota New Hampshire South Carolina Nebraska Washington
Iowa Massachusetts North Carolina Kansas Oregon
Michigan Rhode Island Virginia Oklahoma California
Illinois Connecticut Kentucky Texas Idaho
Ohio New York Tennessee Missouri Nevada
West Virginia Pennsylvania Alabama Arkansas Arizona
Wisconsin Maryland Mississippi Louisiana Utah
Indiana Delaware     Wyoming
  New Jersey     Montana

The CAPTs work directly with state-level agencies to provide training and strategic planning services—including training-of-trainers programs and online educational services—so that knowledge can be disseminated to community-level organizations.

Priority clients for all CAPTs are states and jurisdictions with State Incentive Grants (SIGs), including Strategic Prevention Framework SIGs.

For more information on CAPTs, or to view center resources, please visit

Back to Top

Back to Graphic Version