Caring for Every Child's Mental Health

The Excellence in Community Communications and Outreach (ECCO) Recognition Program

The Excellence in Community Communications and Outreach (ECCO) Recognition Program showcases and celebrates the outstanding achievements of grantees.

The ECCO Recognition Program is sponsored by SAMHSA’s Caring for Every Child’s Mental Health Campaign of the Comprehensive Community Mental Health Services for Children and Their Families Program. It showcases and celebrates the talents, strengths, and successes of grantees that build community-based programs incorporating systems of care for children and youth with serious mental health needs and their families. The Program also provides an opportunity for grantees to learn from others.

Do you have exciting work that you completed in 2015? We want to hear about it!

To submit your grantee’s work for a 2016 ECCO Award, download the 2016 ECCO Recognition Program Call for Entries (PDF | 1.9 MB) and Entry Form (PDF | 310 KB). Fill out the Entry Form and submit your entries online. For inspiration for your entry, learn more about the 2015 ECCO Recognition Program finalists.

Social marketing and communications initiatives created and/or implemented between January 1, 2015, and December 31, 2015, can be entered into the 2016 ECCO Recognition Program.

ECCO categories reflect audiences most often identified in the social marketing/communications plans of system of care grantees and the strategies they use to reach their intended audiences. New this year, communities can enter activities, campaigns, or ongoing initiatives using one or more strategies under the new “Overall Communications Campaign” strategy category.

ECCO entrants are allowed to submit a maximum of eight unique entries, one in each category. Entrants may also submit the same entry in up to two categories—one for the entry’s audience and one for its strategy.

Each entry will be evaluated and awarded points based on how the following criteria are represented within the entry and the official entry description. A full explanation of each criterion is provided on page 2 of the downloadable entry form above.

Criteria and Scoring

  1. Relevance to Category — 5 points
  2. Planning — 10 points
  3. Cultural and Linguistic Competence — 10 points
  4. Message — 10 points
  5. Family-Driven and Youth-Guided — 15 points
  6. Execution/Presentation — 15 points
  7. Creativity — 15 points
  8. Effectiveness and Evaluation — 20 points

Total Points Possible: 100

Questions? Please email

Need ideas for what to submit to the 2016 ECCO Recognition Program? Watch the 2015 ECCO Recognition Program Awards today.

Last Updated: 01/11/2016