FY 2003 Grant Opportunity
Grant Opportunities

Application Information:

Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS)

Cooperative Agreements to Expand the National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative: Intervention Development and Evaluation Centers

Request for Applications (RFA) No. SM03-011

Receipt date: August 7, 2003

SAMHSA-CMHS is accepting applications for fiscal year 2003 (FY03) cooperative agreements to expand the National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative (NCTSI) Intervention Development and Evaluation Centers. Funds are available under Section 582 to local mental health providers for the purpose of developing knowledge of best practices and providing mental health services to children and youth suffering from post-traumatic stress as a result of having experienced or witnessed a traumatic event.

The purpose of the NCTSI is to improve treatment and services for all children and adolescents in the United States who have experienced traumatic events or witnessed such events. A network of centers, the NCTSI has been established to promote the development and use of effective treatment and services, to develop resources on trauma for professionals, consumers, and the public, and to develop trauma-focused public education and professional training and other field development activities.

This announcement solicits for three specific types of child and adolescent traumatic stress Intervention Development and Evaluation (IDE) Centers that will facilitate the NCTSI achievement of its overall goals of improving access to and quality of services for child and adolescent traumatic stress: 

  • Rural/Tribal/Frontier Intervention Development and Evaluation Center
  • Service Systems Models Intervention Development and Evaluation Center
  • Traumatic Stress and Substance Abuse Intervention Development and Evaluation Center

Applicant organizations may apply for the Intervention Development and Evaluation Centers (this announcement) and/or the Community Treatment and Services Centers (RFA SM-03-012).  A separate, complete application is required for each category.  An organization that is selected for funding in both grant programs will receive funding only for its proposed Intervention Development and Evaluation Center.

Applicant organizations must apply for one of the specific IDE centers (Rural/Tribal/Frontier; Service Systems Models; Traumatic Stress and Substance Abuse) and address the requirements for that specific center in the application.  Applicant organizations may submit separate applications for more than one of the specific IDE centers.

Who Can Apply?

The following domestic public and private non-profit entities are eligible to apply: Community-based and faith-based organizations, out-patient clinics, public or private universities, psychiatric or general hospitals, units of State or local governments, Indian tribes and tribal organizations, partnerships of multiple clinical centers, programs and/or community service providers applying as a single center (in which case one of the participating organizations must be designated as the applicant organization).

About cooperative agreements for NCTSI Intervention Development and Evaluation Centers:

Est. Funds for FY 2003: $1.8 million

Est. No. of Awards:  3 in FY 2003.   Annual awards may be up to $600,000 in total costs (direct and indirect) for each year for up to 4 years.  Actual funding levels will depend on the availability of funds. 

Project Period: Up to 4 years, with continued funding being contingent on the availability of funds. 

Additional Information:

For questions on the National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative, Intervention Development and Evaluation Centers, contact:

Malcolm Gordon, Ph.D.


Room 17C-17

5600 Fishers Lane

Rockville, MD, 20857

(301) 443-2957

E-mail: mgordon@samhsa.hhs.gov

For questions on grants management issues, contact:

Steve Hudak
Division of Grants Management

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

Room 13-103

5600 Fishers Lane

Rockville, MD 20857

(301) 443-9666

E-mail: shudak@samhsa.hhs.gov

SAMHSA applications consist of three parts:
1. "Part I: Programmatic Guidance" of the Request for Applications (RFA) provides details about the specific program. 

Click here to download Part I of this RFA in Microsoft Word.

"Plain Language" format

Click here to download Part I of this RFA in Adobe Acrobat.

"Plain Language" format

2. "GFA Part II" gives standard provisions for SAMHSA applications.  However, not all RFAs require Part II.  The latest edition of Part II is always available by mail or for electronic downloading from this website. 

GFA Part II is required for this GFA; click here for more information and to download a copy of the file.

 3. SAMHSA applications require forms PHS 5161 and SF-424.  These forms are available online from the Program Support Center of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. 

Click here to download Forms PHS 5161 and SF-424.

4.  Locate your Single-State Mental Health Agency 


For further information on these forms and the application process, see Information on the Grant Application Process.


For a complete application kit, including Parts I and II, call SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center: 

  • 800-789-2647

  • 800-443-9006 TTY

  • 301-984-8796 FAX


    Go to SAMHSA Home Page Now
This page was last updated on 17 June, 2003
SAMHSA is An Agency of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services