FY 2003 Grant Opportunity
Grant Opportunities

Application Information:

Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS)

Cooperative Agreements to Expand the National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative: Community Treatment and Services Centers

Request for Applications (RFA) No. SM03-012

Receipt date: August 7, 2003

SAMHSA-CMHS is accepting applications for fiscal year 2003 cooperative agreements to expand the National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative (NCTSI) Community Treatment and Services Centers. The purpose of the NCTSI is to improve treatment and services for all children and adolescents in the United States who have experienced traumatic events or witnessed such events. A network of centers, the NCTSN, has been established to promote the development and use of effective treatment and services, to develop resources on trauma for professionals, consumers, and the public, and to develop trauma-focused public education and professional training and other field development activities.

Who Can Apply?

The following domestic public and private non-profit entities are eligible to apply: Community-based and faith-based organizations, out-patient clinics, public or private universities, psychiatric or general hospitals, units of State or local governments, Indian tribes and tribal organizations, partnerships of multiple clinical centers, programs and/or community service providers applying as a single center (in which case one of the participating organizations must be designated as the applicant organization).

It is SAMHSA’s intent to ensure the broadest possible distribution of NCTSI grant funds across the U.S.  Therefore, applicant organizations from the following States will be given priority consideration for grant awards for the Community Treatment and Services Center program because they do not currently have a NCTSI center: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Applicant organizations from one of the above states are permitted to partner with other centers or programs from States not included in the above list. Applicants from States that are not listed will receive consideration for funding only if there are not enough highly-qualified applicants from the listed States.

Applicant organizations may apply for the Community Treatment and Services Centers (this announcement) and/or the Intervention Development and Evaluation Centers (RFA SM 03-011).  A separate, complete application is required for each category.  An organization that is selected for funding in both grant programs will receive funding only for its proposed Intervention Development and Evaluation Center.

Organizations that are currently grantees of the NCTSI are not eligible to apply as the applicant organization under this announcement.

About NCTSI Community Treatment and Services Centers Grants:

Est. Funds for FY 2003: $4.8 million

Est. No. of Awards: 12 awards in FY 2003.  Annual awards may be up to $400,000 in total costs (direct and indirect costs) for each year for up to 4 years.  Actual funding levels will depend on the availability of funds.  Second, third, and fourth project year funding may be supplemented by SAMHSA for activities that fall within the scope and intent of this RFA.  Applications with proposed budgets that exceed $400,000 in any year of the project will be returned without review.

Project Period: Up to 4 years, with continued funding being contingent on the availability of funds. 

Additional Information:

For questions on the National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative, Community Treatment and Services Centers, contact:

Christine Guthrie, M.P.H.


Room 17C-25

5600 Fishers Lane

Rockville, MD, 20857

(301) 443-0691

E-mail: Christine.Guthrie@samhsa.hhs.gov 

For questions on grants management issues, contact:

Steve Hudak

Division of Grants Management

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

Room 13-103

5600 Fishers Lane

Rockville, MD 20857

(301) 443-9666

E-mail: shudak@samhsa.hhs.gov

SAMHSA applications consist of three parts:
1. "Part I: Programmatic Guidance" of the Request for Applications (RFA) provides details about the specific program. 

Click here to download Part I of this RFA in Microsoft Word.

"Plain Language" format

Click here to download Part I of this RFA in Adobe Acrobat.

"Plain Language" format

2. "GFA Part II" gives standard provisions for SAMHSA applications.  However, not all RFAs require Part II.  The latest edition of Part II is always available by mail or for electronic downloading from this website. 

GFA Part II is required for this GFA; click here for more information and to download a copy of the file.

 3. SAMHSA applications require forms PHS 5161 and SF-424.  These forms are available online from the Program Support Center of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. 

Click here to download Forms PHS 5161 and SF-424.

4.  Locate your Single-State Mental Health Agency 


For further information on these forms and the application process, see Information on the Grant Application Process.


For a complete application kit, including Parts I and II, call SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center: 

  • 800-789-2647

  • 800-443-9006 TTY

  • 301-984-8796 FAX


    Go to SAMHSA Home Page Now
This page was last updated on 17 June, 2003
SAMHSA is An Agency of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services