Click to see the modal popup.

SAMHSA News Release

Date: 8/1/2011 1:30 PM
Media Contact: SAMHSA Press Office
Telephone: 240-276-2130

SAMHSA awards more than $6.2 million to help colleges and universities prevent suicide

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is awarding $6.2 million in grants to 21 colleges and universities to assist in their efforts to prevent suicide and enhance mental health services for students in crisis. The grants are designed to enhance services for students with mental and behavioral health problems, such as depression and substance abuse, which may put them at risk for suicide and suicide attempts.
Funds will be used by the grantee to develop training programs for students and campus personnel, create on-campus networks, conduct educational seminars, prepare and distribute educational materials and promote the National Suicide Prevention lifeline (1-800-273-TALK or 8255) which provides 24-hour help for individuals with suicide-related problems.
“Suicide is preventable,” said SAMHSA Administrator Pamela S. Hyde. “This new grant will help ensure that students know that there are places they can turn for help – even before they are at a crisis point.”
This year, 16 Campus Suicide Prevention grants will be awarded under the Garrett Lee Smith Memorial Act. These grantees are expected to receive up to $102,000 per year for up to three years. Five grants will be awarded through the Affordable Care Act (ACA) Prevention Fund. These grantees can receive up to $306,000 to be used over three years. Annual continuation awards will depend on the availability of funds and the performance of the grantees. The grant recipients and their annual awards are:
SAMHSA’s Campus Suicide Prevention Grants
First year award amount
University of Texas, Brownsville and Texas Southmost College, Texas
University of Miami, Fla.
Orange County Community College, N.Y.
Regents of New Mexico State University, N.M.
University of New Mexico, N.M.
Adams State College, Colo.
University of West Florida, Fla.
St. Cloud State University, Minn.
The Curators of University of Mo., Mo.
Bethune-Cookman University, Fla.
Mt. San Antonio College, Calif.
The Art Institute of Chicago, Ill.
Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine, Ohio
University of Southern Maine, Maine
Buffalo State College, N.Y.
University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences Campus
ACA Prevention Trust Fund grantees
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus
Thomas Jefferson University, Pa.
Arizona Board of Regents, University of Arizona, Ariz.
University of Alaska, Anchorage, Alaska
Jackson State University, Miss.

For additional information about SAMHSA and its programs visit .

SAMHSA is a public health agency within the Department of Health and Human Services. Its mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America’s communities.

Last updated: 8/1/2011 1:44 PM

Connect with SAMHSA
Get connected with SAMHSA by following us through these services:
SAMHSA Newsletter

SAMHSA Newsletter
SAMHSA Newsletter