skip navigation


Text Only | SAMHSA News Home

SAMHSA News - May/June 2007, Volume 15, Number 3

photo of SAMHSA Administrator Dr. Terry Cline (second from left) with Tony Vinciquerra (far left), Melissa Rivers (second from right), and Brian Dyak (far right) at PRISM Awards ceremony
To celebrate the PRISM Awards, SAMHSA Administrator Dr. Terry Cline (second from left) joins Tony Vinciquerra, Honorary Awards Committee Chairman and President and CEO of Fox Television Group (left); Melissa Rivers, Awards Host and EIC Board Director (second from right); and Brian Dyak, EIC President and CEO and Awards Executive Producer (far right).

PRISM Awards Spotlight Mental Health, Substance Abuse Issues

Creating accurate portrayals of mental health issues such as depression and bipolar disorder as well as compelling stories about addiction and recovery continues to challenge the entertainment industry.

At the recent 11th annual PRISM Awards, SAMHSA helped honor the outstanding achievements of actors, films, television programs, and radio shows.

Eleventh Annual PRISM Awards logo

SAMHSA Administrator Terry L. Cline, Ph.D., joined with the Entertainment Industries Council, Inc. (EIC), and the FX Network to congratulate recipients at the awards ceremony in Los Angeles, CA, hosted by Melissa Rivers.

“ER,” received honors for best Drama Episode, “House” was recognized for Drama Multi-Episode Storyline, and “Dr. Phil” took top honors for TV Talk Show Episode.

photo of Director Jason Reitman accepting a PRISM Award for Thank You For Smoking
Director Jason Reitman accepts a PRISM Award for Thank You for Smoking.

Two new categories were launched this year, with the new Mental Health Award going to an “American Dad” episode and the Bipolar Disorder Award going to the film, Jelly Smoke.

This year, Thank You for Smoking won in the Feature Film/Wide Release category, and Sherrybaby won in the Feature Film/Limited Release category.

Mariska Hargitay was recognized in the Performance in a Drama Episode category for her work on “Law and Order: Special Victims Unit,” and Judith Light received honors in the Performance in a Comedy Series category for her role on “Ugly Betty.”

HBO’s multiplatform documentary programming initiative on addiction received the PRISM President’s Award, which recognizes an industry project that raises awareness and leaves a legacy.

photo of Cameron Watson, Director (left), and Allison Janney, Actor (right)

Winning in the TV movie category, “On Our Very Own” award recipients included (left to right) Cameron Watson, Director; and Allison Janney, Actor.

PRISM Award winners are selected through a submission-and-review process by members of the creative community and scientific experts. Winners are selected for their entertainment value, accessibility of their message, and scientific accuracy. This year saw a record 430 submissions for consideration.

For more information on the awards, visit For more information about substance abuse and mental health issues, visit SAMHSA’s Web site at www.samhsa.govEnd of Article


Previous Article

Next Article »

Back to Top

Inside This Issue
Expanding HIV Assistance:
Outreach, Testing for
At-Risk Individuals
Part 1
Part 2
Resources on HIV/AIDS
HIV/AIDS Consumer Guide

From the Administrator: On Capitol Hill

Grants: Manual Clarifies Application Process

Children's Mental Health

Virginia Tech Tragedy: Coping with Trauma

Psychological First Aid

Veterans, Families: New Resources

Around the World Treatnet: Improving Treatment Around the Globe

Expanding Treatment in Central America

Treating Alcohol Dependence: Advisory

Recovery Month: Toolkit, PSAs Help Planning Efforts

PRISM Awards in Spotlight

Depression: Reports Offer Statistics

Mental Health Report Available

TAP 21A: Competencies for Clinical Supervisors

HBCU Conference Highlights Workforce

Homelessness Web Site Launched

STD Rates: Alcohol, Drug Use Linked

Staff in the News:
Dr. Kenneth S. Thompson


About SAMHSA News

Subscribe to SAMHSA News

SAMHSA News - May/June 2007, Volume 15, Number 3