Interdepartmental Serious Mental Illness Coordinating Committee Roster

The ISMICC is composed of senior leaders from 10 federal agencies including HHS, the Departments of Justice, Labor, Veterans Affairs, Defense, Housing and Urban Development, Education, and the Social Security Administration along with 14 non-federal public members.

The ISMICC reports to the Secretary of HHS or their designee. The Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use chairs the ISMICC, with management and support services provided by SAMHSA.

ISMICC Federal Members

Federal Membership: The ISMICC will be composed of the following federal members or their designees:

  • The Secretary
  •  The Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use
  • The Attorney General
  • The Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs
  • The Secretary of the Department of Defense
  • The Secretary of the Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • The Secretary of the Department of Education
  • The Secretary of the Department of Labor
  • The Administrator of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • The Commissioner of the Social Security Administration

ISMICC Non-Federal Members

The ISMICC’s non-federal membership represents mental health researchers, providers, patients, families, judges, law enforcement officers, and other professionals who work with people living with SMI. The following national experts were selected in August 2017 to serve three-year terms:

  • Linda S. Beeber, Ph.D., PMHCNS-BC, FAAN, Distinguished Professor, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, School of Nursing
  • Ron Bruno, Founding Board Member and Second Vice President, CIT International
  • Clayton Chau, M.D., Ph.D., Regional Executive Medical Director, Institute for Mental Health and Wellness at St. Joseph-Hoag Health
  • David Covington, LPC, MBA, CEO/President, RI International
  • Maryann Davis, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Massachusetts Medical School
  • Pete Earley, Author
  • Paul Emrich, Ph.D., Under Secretary of Family and Mental Health, Chickasaw Nation
  • Mary Giliberti, J.D., Chief Executive Officer, National Alliance on Mental Illness
  • Elena Kravitz, Director for Policy and Public Engagement, New York Association Psychiatric Rehabilitation Services. Albany, New York
  • Kenneth Minkoff, M.D., Zia Partners
  • Elyn Saks, J.D., Ph.D., Professor of Law, Legal Scholar, University of Southern California Gould School of Law
  • John Snook, Esq., Executive Director/Attorney, Treatment Advocacy Center
  • Rhathelia Stroud, J.D., Presiding Judge, DeKalb County Magistrate Court
  • Conni Wells, Owner/Manager, Axis Group
Last Updated: 03/30/2018