SAMHSA National Advisory Council - Council Roster

SAMHSA National Advisory Council Roster


Elinore F. McCance-Katz, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857


CAPT Carlos Castillo
Designated Federal Official
Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Rockville, MD 20857


Sally Satel, M.D. (N)(6/22)
American Enterprise Institute
Washington, DC 20036

Justin Luke Riley (3/18)
President and CEO
Young People in Recovery
Denver, CO 80220

Allan Tasman, M.D. (N)(6/22)
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
University of Louisville School of Medicine
Louisville, KY 40292

Gail Wiscarz Stuart, Ph.D. (11/18)
Medical University of South Carolina
College of Nursing
Charleston, SC 29425

Jeffrey Geller, M.D., M.P.H. (N)(6/22)
Worcester Recovery Center and Hospital
University of Massachusetts Medical School (UMMS)
Worcester, MA 01655

Terri White, M.S.W. (6/20)
Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3277

Victor Joseph (R)(11/18)
President and Chairman
Tanana Chiefs Conference
Fairbanks, AK 99701

Ken Martinez, Psy. D. (R)(11/18)
American Institutes for Research
Corrales, NM 87048

Ellen Gerstein, M.A. (6/20)
Executive Director
Gwinnett Coalition for Health and Human Services
Lawrenceville, GA 30046

Dave Gustafson, Ph.D. (6/20)
Center for Health Enhancement Systems Studies
Madison, WI 53706-1512


The Honorable Alex M. Azar II
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC 20201

Marsden H. McGuire, M.D., M.B.A. (SES-EQV)
Director, Continuum of Care and General Mental Health Services
Office of Mental Health and Suicide Prevention (10NC5)
VA Central Office
Washington, DC 20420

George F. Koob, Ph.D.
Director, NIAAA
Rockville, MD 20852

Joshua A. Gordon, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, NIMH
Bethesda, MD 20892

Nora D. Volkow, M.D.
Director, NIDA
Bethesda, MD 20892-9851

Terry Adirim, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A.
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs (Acting)
Arlington, VA 20301

Last Updated: 01/09/2020