Page title


Main page content

SAMHSA’s leadership team, made up of the Assistant Secretary, Deputies, Directors, and Regional Directors, brings SAMHSA a variety of experience and expertise in the behavioral health fields, including law, policy and research, mental health and substance use services, state and federal government, and more.

Headshot photo of Miriam Delphin-Rittmon

Miriam E. Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D.

Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use

Tom Coderre

Acting Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary

Sonia Chessen

Deputy Assistant Secretary

Trina Dutta

Chief of Staff

Gary M. Blau, Ph.D.

Senior Advisor

Michelle Greenhalgh

Director of Legislative Affairs

Larke Nahme Huang, Ph.D.

Director of the Office of Behavioral Health Equity (OBHE)

Neeraj Gandotra, M.D.

Chief Medical Officer

Kurt John, Ed.D., M.P.A., MSF

Director of the Office of Financial Resources (OFR)

Monica Johnson, M.A., LPC

Director of the 988 & Behavioral Health Crisis Coordinating Office

Anne M. Herron

Director of the Office of Intergovernmental and Public Affairs (OIPA)

CAPT Karen Hearod, M.S.W., LCSW

Director of the Office of Tribal Affairs and Policy (OTAP)

Daniel Lonnerdal, M.S., FACHE

Director of SAMHSA’s Office of Management, Technology, and Operations (OMTO)

Paolo del Vecchio, M.S.W.

Director of the Office of Recovery (OR)

Brian Altman, J.D.

Director of the National Mental Health and Substance Use Policy Laboratory (NMHSUPL)

Naomi Tomoyasu, Ph.D.

Director of the Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ)

Anita Everett, M.D., DFAPA

Director of the Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS)

CAPT Christopher Jones, Pharm.D., Dr.P.H., M.P.H.

Director of the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP)

Yngvild K. Olsen, M.D., M.P.H.

Director of the Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT)

Regional Directors

Tom Coderre

Regional Director (Region 1)

Dennis Romero, M.A.

Regional Director (Region 2)

Jean Bennett, Ph.D.

Regional Director (Region 3)

CAPT Michael King, Ph.D., M.S.W.

Regional Director (Region 4)

CAPT Jeffrey A. Coady, Psy.D., ABPP

Regional Director (Region 5)

Kristie Brooks, M.S.

Regional Director (Region 6)

Kimberly Freese, LAC, M.P.A.

Regional Director (Region 7)

Charles Smith, Ph.D., M.A.

Regional Director (Region 8)

CAPT Emily Williams, LCSW-PIP, BCD

Regional Director (Region 9)

David A. Dickinson, M.A.

Regional Director (Region 10)

Last Updated

Last Updated: 03/01/2023