Page title

Center for Mental Health Services

Main page content

The Center for Mental Health Services leads federal efforts to promote the prevention and treatment of mental disorders. Congress created CMHS to bring new hope to adults who have serious mental illness and children with emotional disorders.

The Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS):

  • Strengthens the Nation's mental health system by helping states improve and increase the quality and range of their treatment, rehabilitation, and support
  • Makes it easier for people to access mental health programs
  • Encourages a range of programs such as systems of care to respond to the increasing number of mental, emotional, and behavioral problems among America's children
  • Supports outreach and case management programs for the thousands of Americans who are homeless and the improvement of these services
  • Ensures that scientifically-established findings and practice-based knowledge are applied in preventing and treating mental disorders

Contact Information

Center for Mental Health Services
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20857
Contact SAMHSA


Office of the Director

Anita Everett, M.D., DFAPA, Director

Tison Thomas, Deputy Director

Sunny Patel, M.D., M.P.H., Senior Medical Officer

Billina Shaw, M.D., M.P.H., FAPA, Senior Medical Officer

Nima Sheth, M.D., M.P.H., Senior Medical Officer

Office of Program Analysis and Coordination (OPAC)

Michelle Bechard, Director

Office of Policy Coordination and Innovation (OPCI)

Karen Gentile, Director

Division of Trauma and Disaster Behavioral Health (DTDBH)

Nancy Kelly, Director

Child, Adolescent and Family Branch (CAFB)

Emily Lichvar, Ph.D., Chief

Mental Health Promotion Branch (MHPB)

Nancy Kelly, Acting Chief

Disaster Behavioral Health Branch (DBHB)

CAPT Maryann Robinson, Chief

Traumatic Stress Branch (TSB)

CAPT Maryann Robinson, Acting Chief

Division of State and Community Systems Development (DSCSD)

Tison Thomas, Acting Director

State and Homeless Programs Branch (SHPB)

Doug Slothouber, Chief

State and Consumer Protection Branch (SCPB)

Eric Weakly, Chief

Division of Community Behavioral Health (DCBH)

David DeVoursney, Director

Suicide Prevention Branch (SPB)

Brandon Johnson, Chief

Community Support Programs Branch (CSPB)

CDR Mary-Katherine Hager, Chief

Comprehensive Services and Systems Branch (CSSB)

CDR David Barry, Chief

Comprehensive Services and Integration Branch (CSIB)

CDR Nicole Pascua, Chief

Last Updated

Last Updated: 09/11/2023