SAMHSA Regional Administrators

The SAMHSA Regional Administrators are a part of SAMHSA’s leadership team and work to advance SAMHSA’s mission and to improve the delivery of behavioral health services in each of the 10 HHS Regions.

What Do the RAs Do?

As of January 2012, all 10 RAs had begun developing and nationally implementing SAMHSA’s strategic vision, direction, and policies. The roles of SAMHSA’s RAs include:

  • Representing SAMHSA in the national, regional, state and local communities and connecting with stakeholders
  • Promoting initiatives that advance behavioral health and engaging target populations
  • Developing, supporting and leading collaborative initiatives across HHS and other Federal agencies to assure behavioral health is a priority throughout the nation
  • Supporting stakeholders through technical assistance, promoting program development, policy innovation, and system transformation; and,
  • Conducting and preparing periodic reports to communicate important regional and state trends, issues and policies that affect SAMHSA’s programs, grantees and stakeholders.
  • To learn more, watch SAMHSA’s Regional Administrators: SAMHSA’s Presence in the Community (18 minutes).

Regional Administrators

  • SAMHSA Region 1 Administrator - Tom Coderre
    SAMHSA Regional Administrator Region 1 includes Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
  • Dennis O. Romero, M.A. Region 2
    As a SAMHSA Regional Administrator, Mr. Romero oversees Region 2, which includes New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and Virgin Islands.
  • Click to view full-size image of Jean Bennett, Ph.D.
    As a SAMHSA Regional Administrator, Jean Bennett oversees Region 3, which includes Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.
  • Captain (CAPT) Michael King, PhD, MSW
    As a SAMHSA Regional Administrator, Captain King oversees Region 4, which includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
  • Click to view full-size image of Captain Jeffrey A. Coady, Psy.D.
    As SAMHSA Regional Administrator, Captain Coady oversees Region 5, which includes Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.
  • Captain Karen Hearod, LSCW
    As a SAMHSA Regional Administrator, Captain (CAPT) Karen Hearod oversees Region 6, which includes Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma & Texas.
  • Kimberly Nelson headshot
    As SAMHSA Regional Administrator, Kimberly Nelson oversees Region 7, which includes Kansas, Iowa, Missouri, and Nebraska.
  • Click to view full-size image of Charles Smith, Ph.D.
    As a SAMHSA Regional Administrator, Charles Smith oversees Region 8, which includes Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming.
  • Emily Williams Region 9
    As a SAMHSA Regional Administrator, Emily Williams oversees Region 9, which includes Arizona, California, Hawaii, Guam, Nevada, American Samoa, CNMI, FSM, Marshall Islands, and Palau.
  • Click to view full-size image of David Dickinson, M.A.
    As a SAMHSA Regional Administrator, Mr. Dickinson oversees Region 10, which includes Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.
Last Updated: 11/12/2019