Page title

Community Mental Health Services Block Grant (MHBG) Contacts

Main page content

The State Mental Health Authorities Directory lists state mental health authorities (SMHAs) who oversee the MHBG and mental health programs in their state.

Select a state or territory:

Alabama

Nicole Walden
Associate Commissioner MHSA
Alabama Department of Mental Health
100 North Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36130-1410
Phone: 334-242-3642
Fax: 334-242-3025
Email: nicole.walden@mh.alabama.gov

Alaska

Gennifer Moreau-Johnson
Director
Division of Behavioral Health
Alaska Department of Health & Social Services
P.O. Box 110620
Anchorage, AK 99811
Phone: 907-269-4804
Fax: 907-269-3623
Email: gennifer.moreau-johnson@alaska.gov

American Samoa

Muavaefa'atasi John Suisala
Director
Department of Human and Social Services
P.O. Box 997534
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Phone: 684-633-7506
Fax: 684-633-7449
Email: jsuisala@dhss.as

Arizona

Sara Salak
Chief Medical Officer
Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS)
801 E Jefferson
MD4100
Phoenix, AZ 85034
Phone: 602-417-4000
Email: sara.salek@azahcccs.gov

Arkansas

Jay Hill
Division Director
Arkansas Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 1437, Slot W241
Little Rock, AR 72203
Phone: 501-686-9981
Fax: 501-686-9182
Email: jay.hill@dhs.arkansas.gov

Back to top

California

Michelle Bass
Director
California Department of Health Care Services
P.O. Box 997413
MS 000
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413
Phone: 916-440-7400
Email: michelle.bass@dhcs.ca.gov

Colorado

Morgan Medlock, M.D., M.DIV., M.P.H
Commissioner, Behavioral Health Administration
Colorado Department of Human Services
3824 W. Princeton Circle
Denver, CO 80236
Phone: 303-866-7400
Email: morgan.medlock@state.co.us

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Joseph Villagomez
CGC Director
Commonwealth Healthcare Corporation
PO Box 500409, Gloria Drive
Saipan, MP 96950
Phone: 670-323-6560
Fax: 670-323-6590
Email: joe.villagomez@chcc.health

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

Carlos Rodriguez-Mateo, M.D.
Administrator
Mental Health and Anti-Addiction Services Administration
P.O. Box 607087
Bayamon, PR 00960-7087
Phone: 787-764-3670
Fax: 787-995-5164
Email: cjrodriguez@assmca.pr.gov

Connecticut

Nancy Navarretta
Commissioner
Department of Mental Health & Addiction Services
410 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06134
Phone: 860-418-6952
Fax: 860-418-6691
Email: nancy.navarretta@ct.gov

Back to top

Delaware

Joanna Champney
Director
Delaware Health and Social Services
1901 N DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE 19720
Phone: 302-255-9657
Fax: 302-255-4427
Email: joanna.champney@delaware.gov

District of Columbia

Barbara Bazron, Ph.D.
Director
District of Columbia Department of Behavioral Health
64 New York Avenue, N.E., 3rd floor
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202-671-3180
Fax: 202-727-1596
Email: barbara.bazron@dc.gov

Federated States of Micronesia

Benido Victor
Director
P.O. Box PS 70
Palikir Station, Pohnpei State, FM, 96941
Phone: 691-320-2619
Fax: 691-320-5524
Email: bvictor@fsmhealth.fm

Florida

Maggie Cveticanin
Deputy Assistant Secretary for SAMH
Department of Children and Families
2415 North Monroe Street, Suite 400
Tallahassee, FL 32303-4190
Phone: 904-515-8064
Email: maggie.cveticanin@myflfamilies.com

Georgia

Monica Johnson
Commissioner
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities
2 Peachtree Street
24-290
Atlanta, GA 30303-3142
Phone: 404-651-8520
Fax: 770-463-7149
Email: monica.johnson@dbhdd.ga.gov

Back to top

Guam

Theresa C. Arriola
Director
Guam Behavioral Health and Wellness Center
790 Governor Carlos Camacho Road
Tamuning, GU 96913
Phone: 671-647-1946
Fax: 671-647-5402
Email: theresa.arriola@gbhwc.guam.gov

Hawaii

Amy Curtis, Ph.D.
Adult Mental Health Administrator
Hawaii State Department of Health
P.O. Box 3378
Honolulu, HI 96801-3378
Phone: 808-586-4770
Email: amy.curtis@doh.hawaii.gov

Idaho

Ross Edmunds
Administrator
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
P.O. Box 83720/3rd
Boise, ID 83720-0036
Phone: 208-334-5726
Fax: 208-334-7305
Email: ross.edmunds@dhw.idaho.gov

Illinois

David Albert, Ph.D.
Director
Division of Mental Health
Illinois Department of Human Services
401 S Clinton Street, 2nd floor
Chicago, IL 60607
Phone: 312-793-1326
Fax: 312-814-2964
Email: david.albert@illinois.gov

Indiana

Jay Chaudhary, J.D.
Director of DMHA
Family and Social Services Administration
402 W. Washington Street
Room W-353
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2739
Phone: 317-232-7860
Email: jay.chaudhary@fssa.in.gov

Back to top

Iowa

Marissa Eyanson
SMHA
Iowa Department of Human Services
1305 East Walnut, 5th Floor SE
Des Moines, IA 50319-0114
Phone: 515-256-4662
Email: meyanso@dhs.state.ia.us

Kansas

Andrew Brown, M.S.W
Commissioner of Behavioral Health Services
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS)
503 S. Kansas Avenue
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: 785-291-3359
Fax: 785-296-0256
Email: andrew.brown@ks.gov

Kentucky

Wendy Morris
Commissioner
Cabinet for Health and Family Services
275 E. Main Street, 4W-F
Frankfort, KY 40621
Phone: 502-564-4527
Fax: 502-564-5478
Email: wendy.morris@ky.gov

Louisiana

Karen Stubbs, J.D.
Assistant Secretary
Louisiana Department of Health
P.O. Box 4049
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
Phone: 225-342-1562
Fax: 225-342-3875
Email: karen.stubbs@la.gov

Maine

Sarah Squirell, M.S.
Acting Director
Department of Health and Human Services
41 Anthony Avenue
Augusta, ME 04333
Phone: 207-592-6406
Fax: 207-287-4334
Email: sarah.squirrel@maine.gov

Back to top

Maryland

Lisa Burgess, M.D.
Acting Deputy Secretary/Executive Director
Maryland Department of Health
Spring Grove Hospital Center
55 Wade Avenue/Voc Rehab Building
Catonsville, MD 21228
Phone: 410-767-6492
Fax: 410-402-8441
Email: lisaa.burgess@maryland.gov

Massachusetts

Brooke Doyle
Commissioner
Executive Office of Health and Human Services
25 Staniford Street
Boston, MA 02114-2503
Phone: 617-626-8097
Fax: 617-626-8077
Email: brooke.doyle@mass.gov

Michigan

Jeffery Wieferich
Bureau Director
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Behavioral and Physical Health and Aging Services Administration
320 South Walnut Street, 5th floor
Lansing, MI 48913
Phone: 517-335-0499
Fax: 517-241-2969
Email: wieferichj@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Jodi Harpstead
Commissioner
Minnesota Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 64988
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0988
Phone: 651-431-6408
Email: commissioner.dhs@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Wendy Bailey
Executive Director
Mississippi Department of Mental Health
239 North Lamar Street, 1101 Robert E. Lee Building
Jackson, Mississippi 39201
Phone: 601-359-1288
Fax: 601-359-6295
Email: wendy.bailey@dmh.ms.gov

Back to top

Missouri

Nora Bock
Missouri Department of Mental Health
P.O. Box 687
Jefferson City, MO 65101-0687
Phone: 573-751-9499
Email: nora.bock@dmh.mo.gov

Montana

Rebecca de Camara
Administrator
Department of Public Health and Human Services
P.O. Box 202905
Helena, MT 59620-2905
Phone: 406-444-6951
Fax: 406-444-9389
Email: rdecamara@mt.gov

Nebraska

Sheri Dawson, R.N.
Director
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
301 Centennial Mall South – 4th Floor
P.O. Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: 402-471-7856
Fax: 402-742-8314
Email: sheri.dawson@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Stephanie Woodard, Psy.D.
DHHS Senior Advisor on Behavioral Health
Nevada Division of Public Health and Human Services
4126 Technology Way, Suite 200
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: 775-684-2211
Fax: 775-684-4211
Email: swoodard@health.nv.gov

New Hampshire

Julianne Carbin
Director
Bureau of Mental Health
105 Pleasant Street,
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-271-8378
Email: julianne.carbin@dhhs.nh.gov

Back to top

New Jersey

Valerie Mielke
Assistant Commissioner
New Jersey Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services
5 Commerce Way, P.O. Box 362
Hamilton Township, NJ 08691-0362
Phone: 609-438-4352
Fax: 609-341-2302
Email: valerie.mielke@dhs.nj.gov

New Mexico

Neal Bowen, Ph.D.
Director
New Mexico Human Services Department
P.O. Box 2348
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348
Phone: 505-660-2788
Fax: 505-476-9272
Email: neal.bowen@state.nm.us

New York

Ann Sullivan, M.D.
Commissioner
Office of Mental Health
44 Holland Avenue,
Albany, New York 12229
Phone: 518-474-4403
Fax: 518-474-2149
Email: ann.sullivan@omh.ny.gov

North Carolina

Dave Richard
Interim Director
NC Department of Health and Human Services
3001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3001
Phone: 919-733-7013
Fax: 919-508-0951
Email: dave.richard@dhhs.nc.gov

North Dakota

Pamela Sagness
Division Director
North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services
600 E Boulevard Ave
Bismarck, ND 58505
Phone: 701-328-8824
Fax: 701-328-8969
Email: psagness@nd.gov

Back to top

Ohio

Lori Criss
Director
Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
30 East Broad Street, 36th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: 614-466-2337
Email: lori.criss@mha.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Carrie Slatton-Hodges
Commissioner
Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
2000 N. Classen Blvd., Suite 600
Oklahoma City, OK 73106
Phone: 405-248-9281
Email: chodges@odmhsas.org

Oregon

Steve Allen
Behavioral Health Director
Oregon Health Authority
500 Summer St NE E-86
Salem, OR 97301-1118
Phone: 503-449-7643
Fax: 503-947-5546
Email: steven.j.allen@dhsoha.state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Kristen Houser, M.P.A.
Deputy Secretary
Department of Human Services
P. O. Box 2675
Harrisburg, PA 17101
Phone: 717-705-8167
Fax: 717-772-2062
Email: krhouser@pa.gov

Republic of the Marshall Islands

Holden Nena, MBBS/PGDMH
Clinical Director
Department of Human Services
Lojkar Apt. C-16, Long Island
P.O. Box 4168
Majuro, MH 96960
Email: hnena@rmihealth.org

Back to top

Republic of Palau

Emais Roberts, M.D.
Minister
Ministry of Health
P.O. Box 6027
Koror, PW 96940
Phone: 680-488-2552
Fax: 680-488-1211
Email: emais.roberts@palauhealth.org

Rhode Island

Richard Charest
Director
Rhode Island Department of Behavioral Healthcare,
Developmental Disabilities and Hospitals (BHDDH)
14 Harrington Road
Cranston, RI 02920
Phone: 401-462-2339
Email: richard.charest@bhddh.ri.gov

South Carolina

Robert Bank, M.D.
State Director of Mental Health
South Carolina Department of Mental Health
2414 Bull Street/P.O. Box 485
Columbia, SC 29202
Phone: 803-898-8319
Fax: 803-898-1383
Email: robert.bank@scdmh.org

South Dakota

Melanie Boetel
Division Director Behavioral Health
South Dakota Department of Social Services
Kneip Building, c/o 700 Governor's Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-367-5236
Fax: 605-773-7076
Email: melanie.boetel@state.sd.us

Tennessee

Marie Williams, LCSW
Commissioner
Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
Andrew Jackson Building, 6th floor
500 Deaderick Street
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-253-3049
Email: marie.williams@tn.gov

Back to top

Texas

Trina Ita
Associate Commissioner
Texas Health and Human Services Commission
P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 2053
Austin, TX 78751
Phone: 512-838-2054
Email: trina.ita01@hhsc.state.tx.us

United States Virgin Islands

Justa Encarnacion, RN, BSN, M.B.A./HCM
Commissioner of Health
Virgin Islands Department of Health
3500 Richmond
Christiansted, VI 00820
Phone: 340-718-1311
Email: justa.encarnacion@doh.vi.gov

Utah

Brent Kelsey
Director
Utah Department of Health & Human Services
288 N 1460 W, 3rd Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone: 801-540-5242
Fax: 385-465-6040
Email: bkelsey@utah.gov

Vermont

Emily Hawes, LADC
Commissioner of Mental Health
Agency of Human Services
280 State Drive, NOB 2 North
Waterbury, Vermont 05671-2010
Phone: 802-241-0122
Fax: 802-241-0100
Email: emily.hawes@vermont.gov

Virginia

Nelson Smith
Commissioner
Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
P.O. Box 1797
Richmond, Virginia 23218
Phone: 804-786-5682
Fax: 804-371-6638
Email: nelson.smith@dbhds.virginia.gov

Back to top

Washington

Keri Waterland, Ph.D., MAOB
Director
Health Care Authority
P.O. Box 42730
Olympia, WA 98504-2730
Phone: 360-725-5252
Fax: 360-725-2280
Email: keri.waterland@hca.wa.gov

West Virginia

Christina R. Mullins
Commissioner
West Virginia Department of Health and Human Services
350 Capitol Street, Room 350
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: 304-352-5837
Fax: 304-558-2230
Email: christina.r.mullins@wv.gov

Wisconsin

Teresa Steinmetz
Department of Health Services
1 West Wilson Street, Room #850
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: 608-266-2861
Fax: 608-266-1533
Email: teresaj.steinmetz@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Wyoming

Matt Petry
Senior Administrator
Behavioral Health Division
Wyoming Department of Health
122 W 25th Street
Herschler Bldg 2W, Suite B
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: 307-777-8763
Fax: 307-777-5849
Email: matt.petry1@wyo.gov

Back to top

*To update information on this page, please send an email request to webmaster@samhsa.hhs.gov.

Last Updated

Last Updated: 12/09/2022