Page title

Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) Contacts

Main page content

The Single State Substance Abuse Agencies Directory lists single state authorities (SSAs) who oversee the SABG and funding for substance abuse programs in their state.

Select a state or territory:

Alabama

Tammie McCurry, M.A., LPC
Associate Commissioner
Division of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
Alabama Department of Mental Health
RSA Union Building
P.O. Box 301410
Montgomery, AL 36130-1410
Phone: (334) 242-3642
Email: tammie.mccurry@mh.alabama.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
100 North Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36104-1410

Alaska

Farina Brown, M.S.
Deputy Director
Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
P.O. Box 110620
Juneau, AK 99801
Phone: (907) 465-4804
Email: farina.brown@alaska.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
3601 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99503

American Samoa

John E. Suisala
Director
Department of Human and Social Services
P.O. Box 997534
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Phone: (1) (684) 633-7506
Email: jsuisala@dhss.as
Note: Express Mail Address
Centennial Office Building,
997534 Utulei Street, Suite 301
Pago Pago, AS 96799

Arizona

Kristen Challacombe
Deputy Director
Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System
801 East Jefferson
MD4100
Phoenix, AZ 85034
Phone: (602) 417-4000
Email: kristen.challacombe@azahcccs.gov

Arkansas

Kirk Lane
State Drug Director
Division of Aging, Adult and Behavioral Health
Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention
Arkansas Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 1437
Slot W-241
Little Rock, AR 72203-1437
Phone: (501) 683-9981
Email: kirk.lane@dhs.arkansas.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
700 Main Street
Little Rock, AR 72201

Back to top

California

Marlies Perez, M.A.
Division Chief
California Department of Health Care Services
1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 4000
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413
Phone: (916) 345-7589
Email: marlies.perez@dhcs.ca.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 0000
Sacramento, CA 95814-5005

Colorado

Morgan Medlock, M.D., M.Div., M.P.H.
Director
Commissioner, Behavioral Health Administration
Colorado Department of Human Services / Office of Behavioral Health
3824 West Princeton Circle
Denver, CO 80236-3111
Phone: (303) 866-7400
Email: morgan.medlock@state.co.us

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Esther Lizama Muña, Ph.D., M.H.A., FACHE
Chief Executive Officer
State/Territorial Public Health Official
Community Guidance Center
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
P.O. Box 500409, Gloria Drive
Saipan, MP 96950-0409
Phone: (670) 236-8201
Email: esther.muna@chcc.health
Note: Express Mail Address
Navy Hill Road
Saipan, MP 96950

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

Carlos Rodriguez-Mateo, M.D.
Administrator
Administración de Servicios de Salud y Contra la Adicción (ASSMCA)
P.O. Box 607087
Bayamón, PR 00960-7087
Phone: (787) 764-3670
Email: jrodriguez@assmca.pr.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
Carr #2 KM 8.2 Bo. Juan Sanchez
Bayamon, PR 00959

Connecticut

Nancy Navarretta, M.A., LPC, NCC
Commissioner
Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
P.O. Box 341431
Hartford, CT 06134
Phone: (860) 418-6952 / Admin Support: (860) 418-6959
Email: nancy.navarretta@ct.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
410 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06134

Back to top

Delaware

Joanna Champney, M.A.
Director
Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Delaware Health & Social Services
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE 19720
Phone: (302) 255-9657
Email: joanna.champney@delaware.gov

District of Columbia

Barbara J. Bazron, Ph.D.
Director
District of Columbia Department of Behavioral Health
64 New York Avenue NE, 3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 671-3180
Email: barbara.bazron@dc.gov

Federated States of Micronesia

Marcus Samoa
Single State Authority
Department of Health and Social Affairs
P.O. Box PS 70
Palikir, Pohnpei FSM 96941
Phone: (691) 320-2619
Email: msamo@fsmhealth.fm
Note: Send without P.O. Box No. for overnight

Florida

Maggie Cveticanin
Deputy Assistant Secretary for SAMH
Florida Department of Children and Families
2415 North Monroe Street, Suite 400
Tallahassee, FL 32303-4190
Phone: (904) 515-8064
Email: maggie.cveticanin@myflfamilies.com

Georgia

Judy Fitzgerald
Commissioner
Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities
2 Peachtree Street, Northwest, 24th floor
Atlanta, GA 30303-3141
Phone: (404) 463-7945
Email: judy.fitzgerald@dbhdd.ga.gov

Back to top

Guam

Theresa C. Arriola, M.B.A.
Director
Guam Behavioral Health and Wellness Center
790 Governor Carlos G. Camacho Road
Tamuning, GU 96913
Phone: (671) 647-5330
Email: theresa.arriola@gbhwc.guam.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
790 Governor Carlos G. Camacho Road
Tamuning, GU 96913

Hawaii

John A. Valera, AICP
Administrator
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division
Department of Health, Behavioral Health Administration
Kakuhhewa Building
601 Kamokila Boulevard, Room 360
Kapolei, HI 96707
Phone: (808) 692-7529
Email: john.valera@doh.hawaii.gov

Idaho

Rosie Y. Andueza
Manager, Operations Program
Division of Behavioral Health
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
P.O. Box 83720/3rd
Boise, ID 83720-0036
Phone: (208) 334-5934
Email: anduezar@dhw.idaho.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
450 W. State Street
Cenarrusa Building, 3rd Floor
Boise, ID 83702-6056

Illinois

Laura Garcia, MAAPS
Director
Division of Substance Use Prevention and Recovery
Illinois Department of Human Services
401 South Clinton Street, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60607
Phone: (312) 814-2300
Email: laura.garcia@Illinois.gov, david.jones@illinois.gov
Assistant: brian.pacwa@illinois.gov

Indiana

Jay Chaudhary, J.D.
Director
Indiana Family and Social Services Administration
Indiana Government Building
402 West Washington Street, Room W-353
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2739
Phone: (317) 233-4690
Email: jay.chaudhary@fssa.in.gov

Back to top

Iowa

DeAnn Decker
Single State Authority
Division of Behavioral Health
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building, 4th Floor
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
Phone: (515) 281-0928
Email: deann.decker@idph.iowa.gov

Kansas

Andrew Brown, M.S.W.
Commissioner of Behavioral Health Services
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS)
503 S. Kansas Avenue
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: (785) 291-3359
Email: andrew.brown@ks.gov

Kentucky

Brittany Allen
Division Director
Behavioral Health Division
Cabinet for Health and Family Services
Department of Behavioral Health, Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities
275 East Main Street 4W-G
Frankfort, KY 40621
Phone: (502) 782-6740
Email: brittany.allen@ky.gov

Louisiana

Quinetta Womack, LPC, LAC-CCS, CCGC
Deputy Assistant Secretary
Office of Behavioral Health
Louisiana Department of Health
628 North 4th Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: (225) 342-8952
Email: quinetta.womack@la.gov

Maine

Sarah Squirrel, M.S.
Acting Director
Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Maine Department of Health and Human Services
11 State House Station
41 Anthony Avenue
Augusta, ME 04333-0011
Phone: (207) 592-6406
Email: sarah.squirrell@maine.gov

Back to top

Maryland

Lisa Burgess, M.D.
Acting Deputy Secretary/Executive Director
Behavioral Health Administration
Maryland Department of Health
Spring Grove Hospital Center
55 Wade Avenue, Dix Building
Catonsville, MD 21228
Phone: (410) 767-6492
Email: lissaaburgess@maryland.gov

Massachusetts

Deirdre Calvert
Commissioner
Massachusetts Department of Mental Health
250 Washington Street, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 626-5150
Email: deirdre.c.calvert@mass.gov

Michigan

Jeffery Wieferich
Bureau Director
Bureau of Community Based Services
Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities Administration
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Lewis Cass Building
320 South Walnut Street, 5th Floor
Lansing, MI 48913
Phone: (517) 335-0499
Email: wieferichj@michigan.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
320 South Walnut Street
Lansing, MI 48933

Minnesota

Gertrude Matemba-Mutasa, M.B.A.
Assistant Commissioner - Community Supports Administration
Minnesota Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 64988
St. Paul, MN 55164-0988
Phone: (651) 431-6408
Email: gertrude.matemba-mutasa@state.mn.us
Note: Express Mail Address
540 Cedar Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55155

Mississippi

Mallory Malkin, Ph.D.
Chief Clinical Officer
Bureau of Behavioral Health Services
Mississippi Department of Mental Health
239 North Lamar Street
Jackson, MS 39201
Phone: (601) 359-6398
Email: mallory.malkins@dmh.ms.gov

Back to top

Missouri

Nora Bock
Division Director
Missouri Department of Mental Health
1706 E. Elm Street
P.O. Box 687
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0687
Phone: (573) 751-9499
Email: nora.bock@dmh.mo.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
1706 E. Elm Street
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0687

Montana

Mary Collins
SSA/Chief
Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services
P.O. Box 202905
Helena, MT 59620-2905
Phone: (406) 444-9635
Email: mary.collins@mt.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
100 North Park Avenue, Suite 300
Helena, MT 59620-2905

Nebraska

Sheri Dawson, R.N.
Director
Division of Behavioral Health
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
P.O. Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509-5026
Phone: (402) 471-7856
Email: sheri.dawson@nebraska.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
301 Centennial Mall South, 4th Floor
Lincoln, NE 68509-5026

Nevada

Stephanie Woodard, Ph.D.
DHHS Senior Advisor on Behavioral Health
Division of Public and Behavioral Health
Nevada Department of Health and Human Services
4126 Technology Way, Suite 200
Carson City, NV 89706-2027
Phone: (775) 684-2211
Email: swoodard@health.nv.gov

New Hampshire

Jaime Powers, M.S.
Bureau Director
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
Division for Behavioral Health
Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services
105 Pleasant Street, 3rd Floor North
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271 6108
Email: jaime.powers@dhhs.nh.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
105 Pleasant Street Main Building, 3rd Floor North
Concord, NH 03301

Back to top

New Jersey

Valerie L. Mielke, M.S.W.
Assistant Commissioner
Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services
Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 362
Hamilton, NJ 08691-0362
Phone: (609) 438-4352
Email: valerie.mielke@dhs.nj.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
5 Commerce Way, Suite 100
Hamilton, NJ 08691-0362

New Mexico

Neal Bowen, Ph.D. (Dr.)
Director
Behavioral Health Services Division
New Mexico Human Services Department
P.O. Box 2348
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348
Phone: (505) 660-2788
Email: neal.bowen@state.nm.us
Note: Express Mail Address
37 Plaza la Prensa
Santa Fe, NM 87505

New York

Chinazo Cunningham, M.D.
Commissioner
New York State Office of Addiction Services and Supports
1450 Western Avenue
Albany, NY 12203-3526
Phone: (518) 457-1758
Email: commissioner@oasas.ny.gov

North Carolina

David Richard, Acting Director
Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
3001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3001
Phone: (919) 733-7011
Email: dave.richard@dhhs.nc.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
306 N. Wilmington Street, Bath Building
Raleigh, NC 27601

North Dakota

Pamela Sagness
Division Director
North Dakota Department of Human Services - Behavioral Health
600 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505
Phone: (701) 328-8824
Email: psagness@nd.gov

Back to top

Ohio

Lori Criss
Director
Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
30 East Broad Street, 36th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-3430
Phone: (614) 466-2337
Email: lori.criss@mha.ohio.gov, nicole.marx@mha.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Carrie Slatton-Hodges
Commissioner
Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
2000 North Classen Boulevard, Suite 600
Oklahoma City, OK 73106
Phone: (405) 248-9281
Email: chodges@odmhsas.org

Oregon

Steve Allen
Behavioral Health Director
Oregon Health Authority
Health Systems Division
500 Summer Street, NE E65
Salem, OR 97301-1118
Phone: (503) 947-5539
Email: steven.j.allen@dhsoha.state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Jennifer S. Smith
Secretary
Pennsylvania Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs
2601 North 3rd Street
One Penn Center, 5th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Phone: (717) 214-1937
Email: jensmith@pa.gov

Red Band Lake of Chippewa Indians

Darrell Seki, Sr.
Chief
Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians
Highway #1
P.O. Box 574
Red Lake, MN 56671
Phone: (218) 679-3341
Email: dseki@redlakenation.org
Note: Express Mail Address
15797 Main Avenue.
Red Lake, MN 56671

Back to top

Republic of the Marshall Islands

Mailynn Konelios-Langinlur
Deputy SSA Secretary
Ministry of Health & Human Services
P.O. Box 16
Majuro, MH 96960
Phone: (011) (692) 455-0263
Email: mailynnlang@gmail.com

Kalani M. Nll
Acting SSA Director
Republic of the Marshall Islands Ministry of Health
Capital Building, 2nd Floor
Amata Kabua Avenue
P.O. Box 16
Majuro, MH 96960
Phone: (011) (692) 455-625-6976
Email: jinje2202@gmail.com
Note: No street address, send regular mail

Republic of Palau

Emais Roberts, M.D., FACS
Minister
Ministry of Health
Bureau of Public Health
One Hospital Road
P.O. Box 6027
Koror, PW 96940
Phone: (680) 488-2552/2553
Email: emais.roberts@palauhealth.orgadministration@palauhealth.org
Note: No street address, send regular mail

Rhode Island

Richard Charest
Director
Rhode Island Department of Behavioral Healthcare,
Developmental Disabilities and Hospitals (BHDDH)
41 Harrington Road
Cranston, RI 02920
Phone: (401) 462-2339
Email: richard.charest@bhddh.ri.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
14 Harrington Road
Cranston, RI 02920

South Carolina

Sara Goldsby, M.S.W.
Director
South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services
P.O. Box 8268
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 896-8371
Email: sgoldsby@daodas.sc.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
1801 Main Street, 4th Floor
Columbia, SC 29201

South Dakota

Tiffany M. Wolfgang
Division Director Behavioral Health
South Dakota Department of Social Services
Kneip Building c/o 700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 367-5236, (800) 265-9684
Email: tiffany.wolfgang@state.sd.us
Note: Express Mail Address
3900 W. Technology Circle, Suite 1
Sioux Falls, SD 57106

Back to top

Tennessee

Marie Williams, LCSW
Commissioner
Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
Andrew Jackson Building
500 Deaderick Street, 6th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 532-6500
Email: marie.williams@tn.gov

Texas

Trina K. Ita
Associate Commissioner
Medical and Social Services, Division
Texas Health and Human Services Commission
P.O. Box 149397, Mail Code 2053
Austin, TX 78751-9347
Phone: (512) 206-2054
Email: trina.ita01@hhsc.state.tx.us
Note: Express Mail Address
909 West 45th Street, Building 552
Austin, TX 78751-2803

United States Virgin Islands

Justa Encarnacion, RN, M.B.A./HCM, BSN
Commissioner
Behavioral Health Systems
Virgin Islands Department of Health
3500 Estate Richmond
St. Croix, USVI 00820
Phone: (340) 718-1311
Email: justa.encarnacion@doh.vi.gov
Administrative Assistant Email: sadia.ali@doh.vi.gov
Executive Assistant Email: louise.baa@doh.vi.gov

Utah

Eric Tadehara
Single State Authority (SSA)
Office of Substance Use and Mental Health
Utah Department of Human Services
288 N. 1460 W
Salt Lake City, Utah 84116
Phone: (801) 699-0895
Email: erictadehara@utah.gov

Vermont

Cynthia Seivwright, LCMHC, CQIA
Division Director
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs Division
Department of Health
Vermont Agency of Human Services
P.O. Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402-0070
Phone: (802) 651-1550
Email: cynthia.seivwright@vermont.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
108 Cherry Street
Burlington, VT 05401

Back to top

Virginia

Lisa Jobe-Shields, Ph.D., L.C.P.
Deputy Director of Community Services
Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
P.O. Box 1797
Richmond, VA 23219-1797
Phone: (804) 298-3198
Email: lisa.jobe-shields@dbhds.virginia.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
1220 Bank Street
Richmond, VA 23219

Washington

Michael Langer
Deputy Division Director
Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery
Washington Healthcare Authority
P.O. Box 42730
Olympia, WA 98504-5330
Phone: (360) 725-9821
Email: michael.langer@hca.wa.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
626 8th Avenue SE
Olympia, WA 98501

West Virginia

Elliott Birckhead
Deputy Commissioner
West Virginia Department of Health and Human Services
350 Capitol Street, Room 350
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: (304) 352-5558
Email: elliott.h.birckhead@wv.gov

Wisconsin

Teresa Steinmetz
Director
Bureau of Prevention Treatment and Recovery
Division of Care and Treatment Services
Wisconsin Department of Health Services
1 West Wilson Street, Room 850
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: (608) 266-2861
Email: teresaj.steinmetz@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Wyoming

Stefan Johansson
Single State Authority (SSA)
Wyoming Department of Health
2300 Capitol Avenue
401 Hathaway Building
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Email: stefan.johansson@wyo.gov

Matt Petry, M.P.A.
(SSA designated SAPT contact)
Senior Administrator, Behavioral Health Division
Wyoming Department of Health
122 W. 25th Street
Herschler Building 2W, Suite B
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-8763
Email: matt.petry1@wyo.gov

Back to top

*To update information on this page, please send an email request to webmaster@samhsa.hhs.gov.

Last Updated

Last Updated: 11/17/2022