Page title
National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative (NCTSI) - Category II, Treatment and Service Adaptation (TSA) Centers

Main page content

Short Title:
Initial Announcement Back to the Grants Dashboard

Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO)

Please note that SAMHSA is transitioning to the National Institutes of Health (NIH)’s electronic Research Administration (eRA) grants system. Due to this transition, SAMHSA has made changes to the application registration, submission, and formatting requirements in the FY 2016 Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA): PART II. All applicants for NCTSI II grants must carefully read and comply with the requirements in the new FOA: PART II. The link is in the ‘Application Materials’ section below.

NOFO Number: SM-16-008

Posted on Tuesday, March 08, 2016

Application Due Date: Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) Number: 93.243

Intergovernmental Review (E.O. 12372): Applicants must comply with E.O. 12372 if their state(s) participates. Review process recommendations from the State Single Point of Contact (SPOC) are due no later than 60 days after application deadline.

Public Health System Impact Statement (PHSIS) / Single State Agency Coordination: Applicants must send the PHSIS to appropriate State and local health agencies by application deadline. Comments from Single State Agency are due no later than 60 days after application deadline.


The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS), is accepting applications for fiscal year (FY) 2016 National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative (NCTSI) - Category II, Treatment and Service Adaptation (TSA) Centers grants.  The purpose of the Category II, TSA Centers is to provide national expertise for specific types of traumatic events, population groups and service systems, and support the specialized adaptation of effective evidence-based treatment and service approaches for communities across the nation. 

To date, the NCTSI has developed and implemented evidence-based interventions and promising practices to reduce immediate distress from exposure to traumatic events; developed and provided training in trauma-focused approaches and services for use in child mental health clinics, schools, child welfare and juvenile justice settings, among other service areas; and developed widely used intervention protocols for disaster victims.

The work of this initiative is carried out by a national network of grantees – the National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) – that works collaboratively to develop and promote evidence-based trauma treatment, services, and other resources for children, adolescents, and families exposed to an array of traumatic events.  The NCTSN members collaborate with one another, and partner with systems of care where children, adolescents, and families who have experienced trauma receive services in their communities.   For more background information on the NCTSN, see Appendix III.

SAMHSA has identified six Strategic Initiatives to focus the agency’s work on improving lives and capitalizing on emerging opportunities.  This announcement is part of SAMHSA’s effort to achieve the goals of the SAMHSA Trauma and Justice Strategic Initiative by reducing the impact of trauma and violence on children, youth, and families, and addressing trauma-related issues throughout behavioral health, health, and social service systems.  More information on SAMHSA’s Strategic Initiatives is available at the SAMHSA website:

The Category II, TSA Centers program seeks to address behavioral health disparities among racial and ethnic minorities by encouraging the implementation of strategies to decrease the differences in access, service use, and outcomes among the racial and ethnic minority populations served.  (See PART II:  Appendix F – Addressing Behavioral Health Disparities.)

Children of deployed military personnel have more school, family, and peer-related emotional difficulties in comparison to national samples.  Therefore, SAMHSA has identified military families as a priority population under this funding opportunity.

The Category II, TSA Centers grants are authorized under Section 582 of the Public Health Service Act, as amended.  This announcement addresses Healthy People 2020 Mental Health and Mental Disorders Topic Area HP 2020-MHMD.


Eligible applicants are domestic public and private nonprofit entities.  For example:

  • State and local governments;
  • Federally recognized American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) tribes and tribal organizations;
  • Urban Indian organizations;
  • Public or private universities and colleges; and
  • Community- and faith-based organizations.

Tribal organization means the recognized body of any AI/AN tribe; any legally established organization of American Indians/Alaska Natives which is controlled, sanctioned, or chartered by such governing body or which is democratically elected by the adult members of the Indian community to be served by such organization and which includes the maximum participation of American Indians/Alaska Natives in all phases of its activities.  Consortia of tribes or tribal organizations are eligible to apply, but each participating entity must indicate its approval.  A single tribe in the consortium must be the legal applicant, the recipient of the award, and the entity legally responsible for satisfying the grant requirements.

Applicants may also apply for the NCTSI Category III, Community Treatment and Services (CTS) Center cooperative agreements.  However, if SAMHSA receives applications from the same applicant organization for a NCTSI Category II, TSA Center and Category III, CTS Center, SAMHSA will only fund an application in either a Category II or Category III but not both.  SAMHSA may consider priority score, balance among programs, and geographical distribution when making funding decisions.

The intent of this FOA is to have “coverage” and expertise in a range of trauma areas, service systems, settings, and populations.  Applicants are asked to identify their area of child trauma expertise and interest.  SAMHSA has an interest in ensuring that the range of trauma areas are addressed by grantees awarded under this FOA.  SAMHSA may make a funding decision regarding the Areas of Trauma Focus the applicant proposes to address, thereby ensuring adequate “coverage” of trauma areas outlined in Section I.2.  Applicant organizations submitting more than one Category II, TSA Center application with different Trauma Focus Areas may receive an award in each of the different Trauma Focus Areas.

Award Information

Funding Mechanism: Cooperative Agreement

Anticipated Total Available Funding: $15,000,000

Anticipated Number of Awards: Up to 25

Anticipated Award Amount: Up to $600,000

Length of Project: Up to 5 years

Cost Sharing/Match Required?: No

Proposed budgets cannot exceed $600,000 in total costs (direct and indirect) in any year of the proposed project.  Annual continuation awards will depend on the availability of funds, grantee progress in meeting project goals and objectives, timely submission of required data and reports, and compliance with all terms and conditions of award.

Contact Information

Last Updated

Last Updated: