RTP Steering Committee

Learn about the national experts who provide guidance and input on all RTP activities, events, and products through participation on the Steering Committee.

Steering Committee Members

Learn more about RTP Steering Committee members and their credentials.

Sherry L. Allen, M.Ed.

Executive Director of the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC), Ms. Allen leads the program development, fund development, and board facilitation for NBCC’s affiliate in North Carolina.

Johanna Bergan

Executive Director and Director of Member Services for Youth M.O.V.E. National. Ms. Bergan’s work keeps her in close contact with the Youth M.O.V.E. Chapter Member Network, spread across the United States. Ms. Bergan is a youth advocate and a voice for young people in systems, with a special focus on the mental health system.

Lisa Dixon, M.D.

Professor of psychiatry at the Columbia University Medical Center and Director of the Center for Practice Innovations (CPI) at the New York State Psychiatric Institute, Dr. Dixon is a recognized researcher focusing on improving the quality of care for people diagnosed with behavioral health conditions.

Anita Fisher

Director of Education at NAMI San Diego, Ms. Fisher manages the coordination of the family and peer recovery education, support groups, and training for peer and family specialists working and volunteering in the behavioral health field. Prior to accepting her current position, Ms. Fisher was a Vice President and Business Systems Analyst for Union Bank of California.

Larry Fricks

Director of the Appalachian Consulting Group (ACG) and a Deputy Director of the HRSA/SAMHSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions, operated by the National Council for Behavioral Health. Mr. Fricks led the effort to create the Whole Health Action Management (WHAM) Peer Support Training and has trained nearly 3,000 WHAM facilitators in 30 states and the Veterans Administration.

Chris Gordon, M.D.

Psychiatrist and Medical Director for Advocates Inc., Dr. Gordon is responsible for all clinical programs at Advocates, including residential services, outpatient, emergency services, employment, and other supports for people with psychiatric and developmental disabilities, brain injuries, and substance use disorders.

Neil Kaltenecker Campbell, M.S.

Executive Director of the Georgia Council on Substance Abuse, a non-profit organization that builds community collaborations to reduce the impact of addiction in its communities through education, advocacy, and training, Ms. Campbell also serves on the National Advisory Board for Faces & Voices of Recovery, a national advocacy organization.

Chacku Mathai, C.P.R.P.

Director of the NAMI STAR Center, a SAMHSA-funded National Technical Assistance Center (NTAC) on Consumer/Peer-Run Programs, Mr. Mathai has broad experience in mental health and addiction services as a youth leader, peer advocate, peer supporter, educator, community organizer practitioner, trainer, and administrator.

Hunter McQuistion, M.D.

Immediate Past President of the American Association of Community Psychiatry (AACP), recipient of the NAMI Exemplary Psychiatrist Award, and editor of the Handbook of Community Psychiatry, Dr. McQuistion provides community-based treatment for people with mental illnesses, those who are experiencing homelessness, and people with substance use disorders.

Kim Mueser, Ph.D.

Executive Director of the Center for Psychiatric Rehabilitation at Boston University and author of more than 10 books and treatment manuals, Dr. Mueser has clinical and research interests that include family psycho-education, treatment of co-occurring psychiatric and substance use disorders, psychiatric rehabilitation for behavioral health conditions, and treatment of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

Virginia Stoffel, Ph.D.

President of the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA), and co-author of Occupational Therapy in Mental Health: A Vision for Participation, Dr. Stoffel has worked on numerous leadership and service projects with AOTA and the American Occupational Therapy Foundation (AOTF), including establishing board certification in mental health.

Margret Swarbrick, Ph.D.

Coordinator of the Wellness Institute for the Collaborative Support Programs of New Jersey and an associate professor at Rutgers University, Dr. Swarbrick is involved in research, training, and consultation activities in the area of wellness and health promotion, employment services, the role of peer support workers, and strategies for enhancing recovery through participation in valued occupations.

Suzanne Vogel-Scibillia, M.D.

A board-certified psychiatrist with Beaver County Psychiatric Services in Beaver, Pennsylvania, Dr. Vogel-Scibillia has been in practice for more than 30 years. She is a professor of Psychiatry at the Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and served as the board president of NAMI. She often shares her personal story of recovery to help eliminate the stigma of mental illness.

Last Updated: 08/14/2017